• Members of the previous forum can retrieve their temporary password here, (login and check your PM).

Pump for vacuum filtration?

Migrated topic.

Psilosopher
Hey guys. First off, I feel a bit uncomfortable posting this in the advanced chem forum, but I can no longer post under FAQ, and I felt like this was the next best place to ask. I hope this isn't too inappropriate ;)

I have been reading up on mushroom alcohol extracts, and would really like to perform it on a dozen or so grams of aborts I have laying around. I would like to do a soxhlet extraction with ethanol (methanol is supposedly a little more efficient though).

Afterwards I want to evaporate a good volume of the solvent, so the goodies are left in a light solution that can be stored in the freezer.
I would like to do this through vacuum filtration. Maybe the soxhlet and vacuum filtration aren't entirely necessary for making such a simple tincture, but as a layman I'm really interested in learning these techniques for future use in other ventures. Plus, it seems like a pretty efficient way to do this tincture as well, perhaps the soxhlet might make it easier to pull more of the harder to get intracellular psilocin, although doing enough alcohol soaks would end up with the same result.

The thing I'm wondering is, what do most of you use as a pump for pulling the vacuum?
I have a buchner funnel, filter paper, buchner flask, tubing etc. on the shopping list, but haven't decided on the actual pump yet. What would you guys suggest to purchase as a cheap pump that is easily set up in a kitchen environment?

Ethanol is a pretty poor solvent for psilocybin, and psilocin solutions are very susceptible to oxidation. Some people have reported getting largely inactive oily sterol gunk from EtOH mushroom extracts.