• Members of the previous forum can retrieve their temporary password here, (login and check your PM).

First extraction questions

Wertz

Rising Star
I will be doing an extraction soon and as a newbie I have a lot of questions. Could you please review my extraction process and suggest some improvements?
Ingredients/equipment:
  • 2,74 Litre jar
  • 250 grams of MHRB
  • 200 ml Wundbenzin 40/65 (non-polar solvent)
  • as much NaOH as needed to get to a pH of 13-14
  • Coffee grinder
  • Coffee filter
  • large pipette
  • Salt?
  • some acid to neutralize
The steps:
  1. grind MHRB in coffee grinder
  2. fill the jar with tap water
  3. add NaOH to the water while stirring it (measure pH and add more if needed)
  4. put the ground MHRB powder in
  5. shake the solution for some time
  6. leave it for an hour
  7. warm up the Wundbenzin 40/65 with a DIY water bath - is that dangerous or manageable
  8. before adding the Wundbenzin add salt to avoid emulsions - does that make sense to do it at this point of time
  9. fill the jar to the brim, warm but not boiling Wundbenzin
  10. now turn it a lot of times
  11. wait for the layers to separate
  12. take the Wundbenzin out of the jar using the pipette and put it in some glass container that is sealable in the freezer
  13. after a day, take the container out and pour it through a coffee filter
  14. scrape the crystals off
  15. repeat a couple of times from step 7
  16. neutralize the solution using HCl or vinegar
As I have commented throughout the recipe, I have a few concerns, like having bad ratios of the ingredients, having problems with emulsions due to air bubbles from the jar not being that perfect, not using the solvent that everyone recommends (Naphtha) even though I heard that what I am using is way better, and I have no idea how many times I can make pulls from one solution.
Thanks in advance for answers.