• Members of the previous forum can retrieve their temporary password here, (login and check your PM).

First steps

Migrated topic.

ThatChemGuy

Rising Star
Hi everyone, new friends.
I'm a chemistry student (less than a year away from my degree, I hope) and I was always fascinated by mind-altering substances. English is not my native language so I'm sorry for every (present and future) linguistic mishaps. Also I'll always use Tor to post here so, sadly, my presence may be occasional.
I had a fair number of experiences with a fair number of substances (obviously I'm not going to list them here)... but never with DMT. Where I live DMT is like Iridium: extremely rare and otherworldly expensive.
Being a chemist I always wanted to try an extraction but I didn't want to buy source material from the internet and have it delivered to me because the sentence for heavy-drugs (i.e. not weed) related crime is pretty harsh in my country. But a couple of months ago a friend of mine came to me with some MHRB he bought nearly 10 years ago, so wheels are in motion now.
My main scientific interest atm is extraction solvent polarity and how it affects product yeld and purity. If, in the future, I'll get access to an NMR spectrometer (very remote possibility) I'll try to get a spectra of jungle spice (again, it's very remote but never say never).

Science apart, my "phylosophical" research is always ongoing (like many of you, I belive). Beign an extremely logical and scientific mind, my research, even if about completely ethereal 'stuff', actually resembles the scientific method a lot. You may think it's impossible to get to the Truth using only logic (and you're right) but, I think, logic helps a lot in creating a framework to work with, like understanding HOW the Universe works before asking WHY. ((p.s. "how" is not intended in a mechanical-scientific sense here, It's more like 'how God works?''how time works?' 'how things exist in this particular state?'.