• Members of the previous forum can retrieve their temporary password here, (login and check your PM).

Noman´s tek and disposal of NaOH

Migrated topic.

Marcolucid

Rising Star
Hello guys.
Before i start writing something, i would like to apologize for my bad englisch.
I hope that someone is able and willing to answer my questions despite my awfull writing.
I would be thankfull for all helpfull answers i get.

I would like to try Noman´s tek to extract DMT from Mimosa hostilis root bark, but since i have no experience working with chemicals like NaOH (lye), i find it to dangerous to just try it and find out what works.
I know already that i must use goggles, a mask ,gloves and a protective suit (spills), which i have already at home. I will also need some containers with leakproof lids, which a heat-resistant enough to use for the extraction and don´t burst after i slowly add the NaOH to the water.

The thing that worries me the most is that i dont really know how to handle and dispose the NaOH after i mixed it with water and the bark. I also dont know exactly, if the solvents i want to use will work at all or if i just get an emulsion.
I fear that i might just end with a mixture made of NaOH, water, shredded bark and the solvent of my choice whithout a plan how i can get rid of it after i messed up the extraction somehow.
How can i dispose the materials i used, especially the NaOH water.
Could i neutralize it by slowly adding vinegar essence (20% acid) to it.
What would happen if i would do that?
What should i do with the bark?

I still have more questions regarding the extraction, but these are the most important ones .

I am pretty sure that it will take a while till a figure out everything i need to know before i can start.
I dont intend to annoy people with my questions and will try to only ask if i cant find the answers to my problems myself or really am not sure.

Marcolucid: