• Members of the previous forum can retrieve their temporary password here, (login and check your PM).

Stepping outside the 'system'

Migrated topic.

balaganist

Rising Star
so.... recently, as happens every 6 months or so for me, I have again become very frustrated with this system I live in. Mainly the money cogs. I work as a freelance web developer. I thought going freelance would give me more freedom and in some ways it has but - I am still essentially working to pay the bills, and my work generally still helps people who are doing stuff I really don't give a toss about make more money.

I also make music, which has been going pretty well in terms of releases and gigs, but that is still a long way off from earning me a living. And I am not sure I would want to rely on that for a living anyway.
I did some teaching assistance last year, which was really rewarding - however, I left to go to a well paying contract. Thats the trouble... money is too attractive sometimes, as it has the potential to buy one more time, more things, more opportunities.

I really feel like I am not realising my potential. Work gets in the way of creating music and other creative ventures. But it is necessary to pay the bills. This battle has been going on for almost 10 years of my life now.

I guess, it is about going forward and making your own thing. "Be the change you want to see in the world".
The trouble is.. I have only vague ideas about what it is I want to do. But it is def in the realm of educating people and sorting out some of the many messed up things in our corner of the world. My friends always tell me I should come up with some next web application idea... but I havent... I'd rather make music, see friends or work on an extraction when I'm at home!!

I wonder, if anyone else here feels like this and if you have managed to create your own living from doing something positive and rewarding.

Yes brother, I share your pain.