• Members of the previous forum can retrieve their temporary password here, (login and check your PM).

Tissue cultures of common ethnobotanicals

Migrated topic.

Woolmer

Esteemed member
I was wondering if anyone here has any experience with tissue cultures. I noticed that there is very little discussion of this on the Nexus so I wanted to get a thread going as this could be a very interesting route for growing ethnos and perhaps even manipulating alkaloid content.

I recently received supplies and will be having my go at this. To note I have no experience in any scientific field. Everything will be done in a kitchen environment and logged here, including recipes and methods.

Attached below is a paper listing alkaloid production in Cereus Peruvianus TC.

A quote from that paper: "The ratio of alkaloid concentration between mature plant and morphologically undifferentiated cells of callous tissue was 1∶1.7. A relationship between culture medium containing tyrosine and alkaloid production was also observed in the callous tissues of C. peruvianus".

Attachments

• TC+Cereus+Alkaloids.pdf
    80.6 KB · Views: 0
Presumably using a cactus species other than C. peruvianus could lead to the production of more interesting alkaloids than tyramine or hordenine.

Is formation of non-regenerative callous tissue a general function of higher plants, or are there some species where it's simply not worth bothering?

Jagube said:
You may find more discussion of TC on STS.
Thanks, I have seen the discussions on STS, but traffic is so low on that site and the Nexus has a very unique user base that I thought it would be good to bring the discussion here.

downwardsfromzero said:
Is formation of non-regenerative callous tissue a general function of higher plants, or are there some species where it's simply not worth bothering?
I believe so. Is it practical in all species? Probably not.